the road ahead


Spiritual Reading
June 2, 2008, 10:21 pm
Filed under: spirituality

Perhaps the most challenging thing for me as I move forward in my Christian walk is maintaining a freshness in my devotional life. Reading the bible is essential to a heathy walk with God. I have tried every kind of method through the years to seek to stay fresh and encouraged by God’s word.

In Eugene Peterson’s great work, “Eat this Book“, he has challenged me to think hard about my approach to bible reading. If you have not picked up this book then you ought to give it a read. I do want to warn you that it will challenge your assumptions on bible reading. It will take you a while to read it, not for the quick reader!

For me the takeaway is using the ancient methods of the Lectio Divina as a new fresh approach to spiritual reading. I have taken the concepts of the ancient approach and have tagged them in the following way for my reading.

1. Read the text. Preferrably a longer section of scripture.

2. Meditate on the passage.

3. Pray through the passage

4. Contemplate on the passage. This wordless quiet rest in the presence of God thinking about the passage and enjoying the presence of God.

For me it has been a blessing to begin to use this method of holy reading. It has also helped me to use the Message as part of this reading process.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

