the road ahead


Scripture Memory
October 18, 2008, 4:09 am
Filed under: ministry, spirituality

How can a young person live a clean life? By carefully reading the map of your Word. I’m single-minded in pursuit of you, don’t let me miss the road signs you’ve posted. I’ve banked your promises in the vault of my heart so I won’t sin myself bankrupt.” Psalm 119:9-11 The Message

Since the 1970s, The Navigators have focused on the importance of Scripture memory. I love the way Eugene Peterson describes this process: “I’ve banked your promises in the vault of my heart, so I won’t sin myself bankrupt.” Not long ago I was talking with a friend who asked me about the NavPress Topical Memory System, also known as TMS. He said he needed to get back to a planned time for Scripture memory in his life.

Let me challenge you if you have not been memorizing Scripture. It is always a good time to “bank” God’s word in your heart! When you do it cleanes your mind, strengthens your spirit, and clarifies your thinking!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great reminder about Scripture memorization. So often I find myself quoting lines from a movie or television show. I should be quoting Scriptures instead.

Maurilio

Comment by Maurilio Amorim

it’s amazing how the god’s word sticks in our memory through the years. i was active in awana as a child and the scripture i learned there is still cemented in my mind and comes to the surface at just the right times. the word IS alive!

Comment by Julie

Thank you for reminding us the importance of memorizing God’s Word. This should be one of our daily christian disciplines…

Greetings from El Salvador,

David.

Comment by davidguadron




Leave a Reply

