the road ahead


Words
October 27, 2008, 1:04 am
Filed under: ministry, spirituality

As a publisher I work with printed words all the time. At work our days are filled with decisions on how to edit and choose just the right phrase for the printed page or the website that will properly represent the message that our authors want to communicate. We work hard at making sure that the words we publish are the right ones!

Today I am pausing to reflect on my spoken words. I am reminded that words have the power to give life or to destroy it. Not only do written words last forever, so can the impact of our spoken words!

Here is the checklist I follow to make sure that what I say builds up others:

1. Are my spoken words giving hope and encouragement?

2. Are my spoken words discouraging others and destroying their hope?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wow, a tough blog and good reminder about the power of words. I recall how James talks about the tongue and its power. I pray that I/we take heed to this and seek wisdom from above to encourage, not tear down, one another.

Comment by Michael Visentine




Leave a Reply

